ANNOUNCEMENTS

 

How comfortably do you tell the world who you are? Recently I made announcements for my psychotherapy practice with the addition of my licensed status on them and noticed how long I spent tweaking and polishing them. I took a couple of breaks and went back to them later, noticing more and more that everything works out so much better when I’m not trying to make it work. Thank the gods for moments when something like grace drops in and gives us a mercy ride, a welcome acquittal from the false charge of not being enough.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

AWAITING COMMERCE           

                        In Rota, Spain

           

It was in Andalucía

where I found the precise,

red shoes. I had looked for

months, wanted them to say:

Comfort. Baseball.

I am from Minnesota.

 

Seven euros, a lucky find.

So the timbre of my voice

crawls its way into a question.

 

I let the Spanish slide in

softly, guess my European size.

Explain the predicament of not being

“from here,” and the girl is still.

Open.

 

Was I waiting for a reprimand, a

chuckle? Me again, always explaining:

                       I have a good reason!

                       This is why I don’t sound perfect!

 

But mercy owned the air this time.

No scoffing at my somewhat Spanish

or other-nationality.

Only easy things between us.

 

There are moments like slippers:

satin, unexpected, relieving.

We want to put them on

again and again.

 

-Jennifer Sandberg

2 responses to “ANNOUNCEMENTS

  1. First of all, let me say that I LOVE red shoes… What is that? They just make me happy to see them even if they are not on me. In fact, I only have 2 pairs of my own and rarely wear them.

    I wish there was a way to describe the way it feels to read your words. But if I could do that, then I’d be a writer too! 🙂 It’s that illusive yet familiar soft noticing and clarity of thought and feeling. The noticing of the mundane or minutia and connecting it to something that is not… opening up the spirit to all the possible miracles that are everywhere for the taking.

    Thank you. Thank you for sharing this extraordinary gift.
    xo

Leave a Reply

